Cocoa Pear Antioxidant, Exfoliating, Facial Mask

Yesterday found me in the kitchen again, staring at the over ripe pear that was sitting on my counter.  I didn’t want to eat it, as it was too mushy, but I didn’t want to waste it, either.  So, upstairs from the kitchen to the computer I went to google pears and skin care.

What I found is that pears are very good for your skin when eaten, but they contain vitamins and minerals that can benefit your skin from the outside, too.  Pears are rich in that all important vitamin C, and they also have a very high copper content, and copper is a wonderful antioxidant.  I found the following blurb about copper and skin care at skincarerx.com:

“The science involving the use of Copper Peptides in skin care products is relatively new. Copper Peptide is an exciting new ingredient used to prevent and treat the signs of aging. Products are popping up everywhere containing Copper and claiming “face lift in a bottle.” Clinical studies have shown significant improvement in the appearance of fine lines, blotchy skin, and firmness with the use of Copper Peptide products.

Copper is a powerful collagen and elastin promoter and acts as an antioxidant. Generally speaking, peptides are small fragments of proteins. Certain kinds of peptides have an avid affinity for copper, so they bind to it very tightly. The resulting compound consisting of a peptide and a copper atom has become known as a copper peptide. All products containing Copper are not created equal so you must be careful when choosing your products.”

Neova makes the line of skin care products containing copper.  A one ounce bottle of the Neova copper peptide serum costs $103, and that is a discounted price.  Ouch!  I could never justify spending that much money on an ounce of of a serum.  So, using inexpensive pears in your homemade skin care regimen will not only improve your skin, but by going right to the source, you will save a whole lot of money, too.

This is what I whipped up as a result of my research, spurred on by a mushy pear.  After taking a few bites out of the least mooshy part of the pear, I tossed it into the food processer, skin and all.  I then added a small fist full of oatmeal, for the soothing beta glucans, a tablespoon of lemon juice of those exfoliating alpha hydroxy acids, and for more vitamin .  I added about 1/4 cup of cocoa powder for added decadent, and antioxidant polyphnols, and topped it off with a dollop of pumpkin puree, for vitamin A and C, and powerful AHA’s.  I also added some brown sugar, which is also contains AHA’s.

The whir, whir, whir, until all was well blended.  The resulting mask glop had the perfect “stay put” consistency–just thick enough, and not runny.  I smeared it thickly all over my face, then went about my business for about 30 minutes.  When I rinsed the mask off with warm water, my skin was baby soft, and my fine lines were softened, as well, though not as dramatically as the pumpkin apple peel mask.

My skin did glow, but it was also a tad in the pinkish side.  This is not a bad thing, as it is often a result of the AHA peeling action, and it quickly went away.  Today, when I repeated the mask with the leftover, I only left it on for between 15 and 20 minutes.  I then applied my moisturizer, and my mineral makeup, which went on smoothly, and beautifully.

I give this cocoa pear mask about an 8 out of 10.  I just took a looksee, and my fine lines still look less apparent, but the plumping action is just not quite as powerful as the pumpkin apple mask.  I will continue to use this mask in the future, as it smells great, and my skin is very soft.  It’s nice to have another seasonal fruit mask to add to my natural skin care arsenal.  If you try it let me know how it works for you!

 

Leave a Reply

