More Fun With Oatmeal Skin Care-Oatmeal Cranberry Morning Face Mask

Do you ever have mornings when you wake up and look are yourself in the mirror and just thing…ugh!  Well, this morning I woke up and took a look in the mirror, and my skin looked like it was simply screaming for some nourishment.  I suppose that this is no surprise,as the last several days have been anything but slow and easy.  What with 12 articles to write in 4 days, a sick kid, and life, my diet and skin care regemine has been less than exemplary.

But, the articles were all put to bed that night, as they say in the journalism business, my child is well, and the sun it out for now.  It is time to relax, and to get back on track, diet and skin care wise.

So, this morning I gave my battle weary face what it wanted, some nourishment.  I tossed a handful of organic oatmeal into my food processor, then I added a couple of tablespoons of honey, a couple of tablespoons of extra virgin olive oil, an organic egg white, and a handful of dried cranberries.  As I began to process all of these ingredients, I added milk through the feed tube, slowly, until I had a consistency that I liked.  I then processed it some more, using the pulse, to get it as mixed up as possible, sort of like me most days 😉

I spread this onto my face, or more patted and packed in on, making certain that the area beneath my eyes, over the orbital bone, was well covered.  It was a bit messy, and I did it over the kitchen sink.  Within a minute of two, bits stopped dropping off so I then went about my business for about 30 minutes, while the oatmeal cranberry face mask worked it’s wonders.

I rinsed it off with warm water, again, over the kitchen skin, then I headed to the bathroom to take a peak, patting my skin dry on the way.  Wow!  The fine lines and crows feet around my under eyes were softened to the point of being barely noticeable, my skin looked radiant, and is soft as can be.  I feel, and look, like a different woman compared to the one that I saw in the mirror this morning.  I am extremely happy with the results.

This mask is very gentle, so it can be used as often as you like during the week.  The oatmeal soothes the skin, and the oat beta glucans help stimulate collagen production.  The honey helps the skin retain moisture, and the olive oil softens, while providing vitamin E and those essential fatty acids.  The dried cranberries kicked in some vitamin C, and the milk added some lactic acid, and alpha hydroxy acid.  The egg white provided protein, and acted as a binder for all of the ingredients.

Of course, you can use this mask in the evening, too.  You will get the same benefits, but for a fresh faced start to your day, or to perk up your skin on a blah day, this oatmeal and cranberry mask is super morning skin nourishment.

I am off for a walk now–trying to beat the rain.  I will be back later with more fun newsy news!  Adios!

Leave a Reply

