Staying Hand-some–Natural Vegan Anti-Aging Hand Cream with SPF!

I said yesterday that I am just bubbling over with things to talk about, and now I am simply percolating! Again, I remind myself to pace myself, but as i said, she excitement!

I did a little online, natural skin care product shopping yesterday, and found some things that I cannot wait to try, and to review for you. I am hoping that I will love them all! Ah, but I am only going to chat about one thing at a time.

Do you have things in your skin care and beauty arsenal that are not exactly natural? I know that I do! I hear that collective gasp ๐Ÿ˜‰ When a person, or a family, decides to go green and natural it is usually a stepwise process. You usually don’t just run around the house, tossing out everything and instantly replacing it with something more Earth and body friendly, all in one fell swoop. That would be extremely expensive, and it takes a while to find suitable replacements for your mainstream products. So, unless you’ve been green and natural for years, you are bound to still have some products laying around that are less than a verdant green.

For me, one of those products that remained to be replaced was my hand cream. I do have a couple of tubes of Aveda Hand Relief Cream, that my daughter,, the Aveda stylist gave me, but it has no SPF, and a good hand cream needs SPF, just like a good day time face cream.

Next to your face, or maybe before the skin on your face, no place on your body will give away your age like your hands. Some will say that it’s the neck, but I disagree. We pamper our pretty faces, but we put our hands through the wringer with hot water, detergents, cleaning products, the sun, and all sort of other hand battering activities, yet we give this nary a thought beyond slapping a little hand cream on now and again.

Case in point; Many years ago I was at a Holiday program at my children’s school. I happened to glance to my side and my eyes were met with the ugliest hands that I had ever seen in my life. They were red, cracked, and huge, almost in a swollen way. They looked rough as sandpaper, and downright angry! I thought to myself, “Well, those hands must belong to one of our lobsterman fathers.” Then I looked up and saw the hands attached to a woman a good deal younger than myself, whose family owns and runs an organic farm. Superb veggies, I must say. Sad, sad hands–yikes!

Now, I am in no way a pampered princess. My hands have encountered with many hostile environments. When I worked as an R.N., I had to wash my hands with a very strong soap over and over each day, to the point that my hands cracked despite a hand lotion. Then, just living, I have been up to my elbows in hot water for what seems like almost half of my waking hours ๐Ÿ˜‰ I have cleaned, and gardened and quilted, and so forth. I live my life. I may not have the hands of a 20 year old, but they don’t look bad, and besides, the 20 year old who I’d have taken them from might complain ๐Ÿ˜‰

So, for a hand cream with SPF I have been using Bath and Body Works, Glove Me Tender, and I have liked it just fine, in a very guilty way. It has an SPF 15, which is the minimum one wants for their hands, just like the face. Well, yesterday I googled for a natural hand cream with SPF, and within a few minutes, and the click of a few buttons, I had one ordered, and it is now winging it’s way towards me! I am tickled to try it!

I found it on Etsy.com, from seller ayelet17. It is called Pampered Hands, and it is a natural, vegan, anti-aging and repairing hand cream with SPF 15! It’s like manna from heaven! The hand cream contains hemp seed butter, organic babassu oil, avocado oil, aloe vera, as well as other good stuff. Zinc oxide and titanium dioxide provide both UVA and UVB protection, naturally. The cream is handmade and free of parabens, fragrances, and such.

As I have said before, I love to support small, independent companies, and craftspersons, so I am truly dying to try this natural hand cream with SPF, and I really hope that i adore it! it is certainly priced right, at $9.95 for a 2.5 ounce tube, and the description says that it is not greasy. Ayelet17’s Etsy shop has many more natural skin and face care products, all wonderfully priced, so while I await my delivery, you take a look. Can it be that I have found another super source for natural skin care? I will let you know!

Leave a Reply

