Is Your Beauty Sleep Causing Wrinkles?

Unless you sleep on your back, the answer is probably yes! A coupple of years ago I noticed a vertical crease on my forehead and the deeper it got, the more I wondered how it got there.  One morning, I pushed on my face, this way and that, to see what would crease that area of my forehead.  Then I thought, “Oh my!  Can it be because this is the side I sleep on”?

About a month later, my Sephora Christmas catalog arrived, and in those little tidbits that they tuck into the margins came the answer to my question.  Yes, sleeping can, and does, cause wrinkles.  Now, how come no one told me that?

Once suggested solution was to sleep on a pillow with a satin pillow case.  This gave me a huge flashback to the 70’s when my Mom took to using a satin pillowcase to save her hairdo.  Back then, women still had hairdo’s, complete with the use of Dippity Do and curlers.  Satin pillow cases were all the rage back then, but now there is a resurgence in interest.

So say that the help a satin pillow case gives in minimal; that the only real way so stop, or prevent sleep wrinkles is to sleep on your back.  Well, if you are a confirmed side sleeper, such as myself, or a tummy sleep, good luck to you!  So far, I have had no luck in training myself to be a back sleeper.

What I have done is to make a conscious effort to switch things up a bit, and to try to fall asleep on the side that I prefer less.  This seems to have helped a bit.  Since I am a crummy sleeper, I usually wake up several times a night and if I get up for a bit, I can tell by the sensation on my face which side was used last, so I lay down on the other side when I return to bed.

My mother used to say, “You have to suffer to be beautiful.”  She wasn’t kidding, as sleeping on my back comes about as naturally to me as tree climbing–which I don’t do and don’t want to, either.

Ah, well.  It’s late and it’s been a long day.  I am off to bed, probably to put another crease or two onto my face.  See you tomorrow! Sleep tight!  😉

Leave a Reply

