Popeye And Olive Oil…Good Food, Soft Face

Popeye and Olive Oyl.  That’s what I have been reminded of today.  You will find out why 😉

I got quite ambitious with my skin care regimen this morning.  I have to admit that I have been quite lax in the last week, as we have no running water due to a dead well pump ;-(  This adds a whole other element to everyday tasks, like washing the dishes, and of course, personal hygiene practices, so I have been lazy with my poor face.

I decided that it was time to rectify that today, so I have gave my face a good scrub with the lemon juice, sugar exfoliating scrub that I have outlined in an earlier post.  Today, I mixed brown sugar with lemon juice then I added a tablespoon of olive oil and a few drops of clary sage essential oil.  I did the two minute scrub, then the two minute sit, then rinsed with warm.

I followed that with the coffee grounds mask that I have written about. I need the caffeine!  I mixed about 1/2 cup of coffee grounds with a fresh, organic egg white and 2 tablespoons of honey and then mixed well, and applied it all over my face.  I left this mixture on my face for 15 minutes, much to the distress and dismay of my four year old son, who wanted it off of me NOW!  While I let the mask dry, I brewed up a small amount of very strong green tea–all of those anti-oxidants!  Then I rinsed the mask off of my now glowing, rosy face.

I then patted the strong green tea all over my face, and while it soaked in, I used the leftover brown sugar/lemon juice glop to exfoliate my hands.  Soft, soft hands, thanks to the olive oil in the mix!  Next step included the witch hazel toner–my current mix included orange essential oil, thyme essential oil–good for my oily summer skin, and 1/4 cup strong green tea.

The final step in this mini facial was a light application of extra virgin olive oil all over my face, including around my eye area.  I then indulged myself in a glorious spinach salad that included dried cranberries, pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds, and almonds!  I put this in my face, rather than on it 😉 Delicious!  What a good girl I have been today!  Are you seeing the Popeye connection?  The spinach and olive oil–there is a cartoon that was visionary in it’s healthful message–including Bluto–the scorned junk food junkie.  Anyway, my skeptical four year old son told me that my skin looked “fabulous”  so it was time well spent.

I love using pure olive oil as a moisturizer.  I am buying it to cook with, anyway, so there is no added expense, and the benefits of extra virgin olive oil are many.  Dr. Perricone, and many others include olive oil in their skin care products, but the most beneficial way to use it is straight up!  If you’re afraid of using the pure stuff on your face, try mixing in a few drops to your face cream, or body lotion.

Why is olive oil so good for your skin?  Well Paula Begoun tells us that, “Olive oil contains essential fatty acids dry skin needs, including oleic, palmitic, and linoleic acids. It also contains phenolic compounds that provide antioxidant benefit. Also worth mentioning is olive oil’s anti-inflammatory property.”  Her site, http://www.cosmeticscop.com has a lot of interesting information regarding skin care and the cosmetic industry, even if her focus isn’t natural skin care.

If you have the time and need the pampering, head to the kitchen and mix up some foody potions for your own home facial.  Then relax and wait for the compliments.  Hours later, my skin feels smooth as a baby’s butt, and the lines around my eyes are much less noticeable.  If I ever get around to putting my my natural, mineral make-up, I will probably just do my eyes, and my skin looks so great!

Don’t forget, today is the last day to get 20% off of anything at Aromaleigh Mineral Make-up, with Kristen’s hot20 summer sale.  Check it out at http://www.aromaleigh.com!  Charge it!

One thought on “Popeye And Olive Oil…Good Food, Soft Face

Leave a Reply

