Homemade Witch Hazel Facial Toner

I have combination skin that verges on oily skin in the summer.  Heck, it doesn’t even verge on being oily–it just is, despite my age.  I get very shiny. My mother used to tell me to be grateful for my oily skin because as I got older, which HAS happened, my skin would hold up better in terms of lines and wrinkles than someone with dry skin.  That has turned out to be true, and I pass this little bit of hope for the future onto my  oldest.

In my youth, I used to go to all sort of extreme to staunch the oil production, from the strongest over the counter astringent that actually stung when I put it on, to plain old pure alcohol.  Yes, that is drying but a bit too much.

These days I make my own facial toner using the miraculous witch hazel, which you can easily find at any drug store.  Witch hazel has astringent properties, as well as anti-inflammatory properties and antioxidants that we so crave.  The beauty of using witch hazel to make your own skin toner is that it can be customized to your skin type and needs with the use of essential oils.

For instance, those with oily and acne prone skin can add several drops of any one of the following essential oils to the witch hazel: Tea tree, lavender, rose geranium, , rosemary, and thyme.  Or, you can use a combination of oils to create a scent that you enjoy.  Remember that to any bottle of witch hazel about 8 drops of essential oils total should be plenty, so don’t overdo it.

Women with mature skin, which I have to admit is something that might include me can use carrot seed oil, clary sage, rose essential oil, lavender, geranium and neroli.  If you have normal skin than geranium, rosewood, neroli, cedarwood or jasmine will suit you. Ylang ylang, sweet orange, neroli, cedarwood, rose and clary sage will suit dry skin.  And combination skin will be balanced by the use of geranium, rosewood, neroli and ylang ylang.

As you can see, that you can choose one essential oil, or you can mix it up a bit, literally, to suit your specific needs, and your scent tastes.  Lavender, sweet orange, geranium, rosemary and clary sage are fairly inexpensive essential oils, while rose and jasmine are luxurious, and expensive.  You can be as self indulgent as you choose!  Be the mixologist that you’ve always dreamed to be!  Cheers!

Leave a Reply

